Our Team

Bill Taylor

Bill Taylor

President & CEO

(506) 529-1034

Robert Otto

Robert Otto

Chief Operating Officer

rotto@asf.ca (506) 529-1519 (506) 469-4456

Elizabeth Ames

Elizabeth Ames

Executive Assistant to President

bames@asf.ca (506) 529-1380 (506) 466-6592

Kathy Finniemore

Kathy Finniemore

Executive Assistant to COO

kfinnimore@asf.ca (506) 529-1022

Neville Crabbe

Neville Crabbe

Executive Director of Communications and Marketing

ncrabbe@asf.ca (506) 529-1033

Kristen Noel

Kristen Noel

Communications Director

knoel@asf.ca 902-499-1801

Tom Cheney

Tom Cheney

Marketing Director

tcheney@asf.ca (902) 717-1414

Andrew Clarke

Andrew Clarke

Director of Conservation Campaigns

aclarke@asf.ca 506-321-4443

Martin Silverstone

Martin Silverstone

Editor Atlantic Salmon Journal

silverstonem@videotron.ca (514) 457-8737

Cailey Fernie

Cailey Fernie

Media & Advertising Manager

cfernie@asf.ca (506) 529-1027

Stephen Sutton

Stephen Sutton

Director of Public Policy

ssutton@asf.ca (506) 529-1020 (709) 685-1490

Abby Pond

Abby Pond

Vice President of Development

apond@asf.ca (506) 529-1037 (506) 466-8190

Andrew Goode

Andrew Goode

Vice President, U.S. Development

agoode@asfmaine.org (207)-725-2546

Bill Bullock

Bill Bullock

Vice President, Major Giving and Planned Gifts US

bbullock@asfmaine.org
Card background image

Rod Vogel

Rod Vogel

Senior Philanthropy Advisor

rvogel@asfmaine.org (207) 653-1691

Cindy Bartlett

Cindy Bartlett

Development, Membership Services Manager

cbartlett@asf.ca (506) 529-1041

Chelsea Frigault Smith

Chelsea Frigault Smith

Manager, Special Events

csmith@asf.ca (506) 529-1387

Carolyn Leavitt

Carolyn Leavitt

Manager, Development

membership@asf.ca (506) 529-1025

Jennifer Baldwin

Jennifer Baldwin

Donor & Data Services Assistant

jbaldwin@asf.ca (506) 529-1386

Amy Wesenberg

Amy Wesenberg

Chief Financial Officer

awesenberg@asf.ca (506) 529-1021

Anita Cline

Anita Cline

Controller

acline@asf.ca (506) 529-1029

Mary LeBlanc

Mary LeBlanc

Accounting Clerk

mleblanc@asf.ca (506) 529-1038
Card background image

Hardy Frost

Hardy Frost

Maintenance Manager

(506) 529-1036
Card background image

Jordan Condon

Jordan Condon

Wild Salmon Watersheds Science Coordinator

jcondon@asf.ca 902-394-0749

Nathan Wilbur

Nathan Wilbur

Vice President of Regional Programs

nwilbur@asf.ca (506) 442-2185

Kris Hunter

Kris Hunter

Regional Director for Wild Salmon Watersheds & Program Director for Prince Edward Island

khunter@asf.ca (902) 870-7210

Deirdre Green

Deirdre Green

Program Director, Nova Scotia Programs

dgreen@asf.ca (902) 499-9821

Serge Collin

Serge Collin

Program Director, New Brunswick Programs

scollin@asf.ca (506) 888-4410
Card background image

Kim Thompson

Kim Thompson

Director, Newfoundland & Labrador Programs

kthompson@asf.ca 709-632-1155
Card background image

Charles Cusson

Charles Cusson

Program Director, Quebec Programs

ccusson@asf.ca (514)-926-1412

John Burrows

John Burrows

Vice President of US Operations

jburrows@asfmaine.org (207) 725-2833

Jeff Reardon

Jeff Reardon

Habitat Restoration Project Manager

jreardon@asfmaine.org (207) 725-2833

Maranda Nemeth

Maranda Nemeth

Maine Headwaters Project Manager

mnemeth@asfmaine.org (207) 725-2833 (412) 527-7903

Cat Birmingham

Cat Birmingham

Grants & Office Administrator

cbirmingham@asfmaine.org (207) 725-2833

Jonathan Carr

Jonathan Carr

Senior Research Scientist

jcarr@asf.ca (506) 529-1385
Card background image

Graham Chafe

Graham Chafe

Biologist

gchafe@asf.ca (506) 529-1023

Jason Daniels

Jason Daniels

Biologist

jdaniels@asf.ca (506) 466-8201

Heather Perry

Heather Perry

Biologist

hperry@asf.ca (506) 754-1921
Card background image

Ellen Mansfield

Ellen Mansfield

Office Manager, Research & Environment

emansfield@asf.ca (506) 529-1062

Governance

ASF Scholarships & Bursaries

Olin Fellowship Jed Wright Fellowship

International Headquarters

Location icon

15 Rankine Mill Road
Chamcook, N.B.
E5B 3B1
savesalmon@asf.ca

Phone icon(506) 529-4581

New England Office

Location icon

Fort Andross, 14 Maine Street, Suite 202

Brunswick, ME 04011-2054, USA

info@asfmaine.org

Phone icon(207) 725-2833

Business Information

ASF Can Business # 118796150 RR

US Tax ID #: 180-072-117

US 501c(3): 13-261-8801

Number of employees: 40

Canada mail
P.O. Box 5200
St. Andrews, N.B.
E5B 3S8

 

U.S.A. mail
P.O. Box 807
Calais, ME
04619-0807

Historical Timeline

1948

The Atlantic Salmon Association (ASA), a predecessor of ASF, is formed in Montreal. Noted architect Percy Erskine Nobbs was a driving force in the creation process.

Historical Timeline

1952

Hot off the press – the first issue of our flagship magazine is published!

Historical Timeline

1956

ASA members raise a concern about widespread DDT spraying, an early voice in the movement to ban the practice.

Historical Timeline

1968

The International Atlantic Salmon Foundation (IASF), a predecessor of ASF, is established in St. Andrews, N.B.

Historical Timeline

1972

Quotas are established for the offshore salmon fishery in Greenland, and offshore fisheries in New Brunswick and Newfoundland and Labrador are closed. Momentum builds to stop near-shore commercial net fisheries in Canada.

Historical Timeline

1975

IASF opens an international centre for salmon research near St. Andrews, N.B. From left, John Anderson, University of New Brunswick President, Wilfred Carter, Executive Director of IASF, Hon. Romeo LeBlanc, Canada’s Minister of Fisheries, William J. Porter, U.S. Ambassador to Canada, and Richard Hatfield, Premier of New Brunswick, were on hand.

Historical Timeline

1981

ASA and IASF combine to form the Atlantic Salmon Federation (ASF), a pre-eminent conservation organization on behalf of wild Atlantic salmon and their environment.

Historical Timeline

1983

ASF advocacy leads to the formation of the North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization (NASCO), an international treaty group focused on reducing mixed stock salmon catches in Greenland and the Faroe Islands.

Historical Timeline

1987

The Matapedia Accord is signed by ASF and representatives of its six regional councils, setting the stage for coordinated conservation efforts that persist today.

Historical Timeline

1988

The first Atlantic Salmon Interpretive Centre in North America is opened in St. Andrews, N.B. Visitors from around the world learn about wild Atlantic salmon conservation.

Historical Timeline

1990

Passage of the U.S. Clean Air Act sees coal plants curtail sulphur dioxide emissions, ending the scourge of acid rain which caused extensive damage to salmon habitat in Nova Scotia. Nathaniel Reed, a long-time director of ASF, was instrumental in the development and passage of the law.

Historical Timeline

1992

ASF and Fisheries and Oceans Canada deploy acoustic tags on wild Atlantic salmon in the Bay of Fundy, one of the earliest attempts to monitor fish movement with sonic technology.

Historical Timeline

1993

ASF and the North Atlantic Salmon Fund sign the first agreement with Greenland commercial fishermen to suspend their harvest of wild Atlantic salmon. A continuation agreement is signed in 1994.

Historical Timeline

1999

ASF plays a key role in removal of the Edwards Dam on the Kennebec River in Maine, the first major dam demolition in Eastern North America to benefit wild Atlantic salmon and 10 other species of sea-run fish.

Historical Timeline

2000

The Canadian federal government completes the buy-out of the commercial Atlantic salmon fishery in its territorial waters.

Historical Timeline

2002

ASF and the North Atlantic Salmon Fund reach a new agreement with Greenland commercial fishermen to suspend their wild Atlantic salmon fishery. The deal lasts until 2010 and contributes to increased North American salmon runs.

Historical Timeline

2004

A final agreement is reached between ASF and their partners to restore the Penobscot River in Maine, officially launching the Penobscot River Restoration Project.

Historical Timeline

2005

A pilot project is launched by the Nova Scotia Salmon Association (NSSA) and ASF on the West River (Sheet Harbour) to add lime directly to the watercourse and reverse the damage caused by acid rain. The project is ongoing and hailed as a restoration success.

Historical Timeline

2006

ASF researchers celebrate a milestone after the first detection of a tagged juvenile Atlantic salmon at the Strait of Belle Isle, more than 1,000 kilometers from the tagging site and half the distance to Greenland.

Historical Timeline

2007

The Government of Canada makes a $30 million endowment to create the Atlantic Salmon Conservation Foundation. ASF President Bill Taylor, DFO Minister Loyola Hearn, and Bud Bird, Canada’s Commissioner to NASCO were instrumental in the fund’s creation.

Historical Timeline

2009

ASF begins a long-term partnership with the Conservation Fund’s Freshwater Institute for research and development of land-based, closed-containment salmon aquaculture.

Historical Timeline

2011

ASF releases a study on the economic value of wild Atlantic salmon which found the species generates $255 million in Eastern Canada each year. Click here for 3-page summary.

Historical Timeline

2013

The removal of the Veazie dam on the Penobscot River is completed. Combined with the earlier removal of the Great Works dam, more than 1,600 kilometres (1,000 miles) of river and stream habitat is reopened to 11 species of sea-run fish.

Historical Timeline

2014

ASF president Bill Taylor is invited to serve as vice-chair for Canada’s Ministerial Advisory Committee on Atlantic Salmon, a committee struck in response to record-low salmon returns on various rivers in 2014.

Historical Timeline

2015

ASF and partners complete a man-made channel around the Howland dam, the final major work of the Penobscot River Restoration Project.

Historical Timeline

2016

ASF joins DFO and others in the creation of the Atlantic Salmon Research Joint Venture, a coordinating and funding body for future Atlantic salmon research in Canada.

Historical Timeline

2017

ASF challenges the Newfoundland and Labrador government in court over the Placentia Bay aquaculture project and wins. ASF researchers publish the world’s first scientific paper detailing movement of adult Atlantic salmon in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Labrador Sea, revealing behaviour like deep dives over 900 metres.

Historical Timeline

2018

ASF and the North Atlantic Salmon Fund sign a landmark 12-year agreement with Greenland fishermen to suspend the commercial harvest of Atlantic salmon and limit the fishery to a 20-tonne subsistence quota, a deal that will save thousands of adult salmon annually.

Historical Timeline

2019

ASF leads the most extensive smolt tracking program in history, from New Brunswick to Labrador.

Historical Timeline

2020

Despite the onset of the Covid-19 Pandemic, ASF develops protocols to work with other NGOs in the field, and to complete a robust and important salmon scientific program.

Historical Timeline

2021

ASF staff apply more than 60 satellite “pop-off” transmitter tags to Atlantic salmon near Qaqortoq, Greenland to follow their overwinter and homeward migration. The ASF biologists followed all international and national Covid-19 requirements to do so.

Historical Timeline

2022

ASF receives a $7.5 million grant for aquatic habitat restoration work in the Penobscot River watershed over the next three years.

Historical Timeline

2022

ASF launches the Wild Salmon Watersheds program to help conserve Atlantic salmon for decades to come.

News & Stories

Become a Member

Join the Wild Salmon. Wild Rivers. movement. Your support is vital to continuing our work that conserves wild Atlantic salmon and their habitat. Our changing climate demands action now. Join us to help turn the tide for the future of our fish and planet.

Become a Member